49 Days [Ep. 1-14]

“Do you have three people who truly love you?”

This is the main theme of 49 Days. And to be honest, it’s a really interesting and deep question I think we all need to face. Needless to say, I think it made for a beautiful storyline.

The first day I started watching it, I couldn’t stop. I think I watch five or six episodes in a row. And the next day the same. It’s that good.

I really like that it incorporates something spiritual into the theme. Ji-hyun died when it wasn’t her time, so she was given a chance to try and come back to life. However, three people had to cry sincere tears for her. It was a nice touch when they mention that not all tears are sincere, “pure” tears. There are tears of pity, courtesy, self-consolation and so on.

Ji-hyun started out a very naive girl, who had no real idea who the people around her really were. She figured that it would be easy to get those three tears. She says “I only have to get three?” but as Jun Il-woo said, I think the real question is, “I have to get that many?” Food for thought. Who would cry pure, sincere tears for you?

Back to Ji-hyun. She grows so much in the course of the drama. At the beginning, all the thought about was how to get the three tears. But she starts learning more about the woman who’s body she’s possessing, Song Yi-kyung, and eventually grows attached to her, wanting to help the depressed woman. And also realizing that she can’t really do anything in death to find those three tears. What she did while still alive will determine if she gets the three tears.

Something to think about for us, too. What we do in our lives will affect whatever happens in the next world.

I’ve enjoyed all the episodes up until now, and I’m probably going to finish it before the end of next week, if not sooner. All the characters are somehow intertwined in the most intricate and subtle manner. Very well written, I must say, and a must see. I look forward to finishing it!

Leave a comment