Sung Joon – Wake Up

I loved this song the minute I heard it. Wake Up is actually from the OST of Shut Up: Flower Boy Band. In the drama it’s the second single Eye Candy (seriously, that is an AWESOME name!) releases. I actually heard it before I saw the actual episode where it was first introduced, and that just made me even more excited for the rest of the drama. SUFBB remains to this day, my favorite kdrama yet.

I think what I like the most about this song is that most of it is just chorus. Sure, verses are nice, but oftentimes the chorus is what I like best, and it’s what I want to hear the most of. Unfortunately, most songs only repeat the song two to four times, depending on the number of verses and/or bridges that the song has. Not nearly enough to satisfy me. But this song repeats the chorus enough to satisfy me. Also, the verses are short and sweet, leaving more time for the chorus.

Another thing I wanted to talk about was Sung Joon. Now, Sung Joon is known as a model-turned actor. He’s not a singer, that I’m aware of. So I was pleasantly surprised to find out that he’s got a nice voice. Then again, what’s a good voice nowadays? Honestly, I think that most voices these days, be they Korean, American, English, or whatever, tend to have a similar sound. It’s the ones that are different from the norm (see my review of Kim Yerim’s Circus) that stand out. That isn’t to say that all the ones that sound similar aren’t good. On the contrary; there’s a reason why so many people tend to have similar voices. It’s what’s popular; it’s what people want to hear, love to hear. So it’s by no means a bad thing to sound similar to others. It’s just harder to stand out from everyone else.

Errrr… back to Sung Joon. I think his voice fit this song. It’s got a ice quality to it, and it’s pleasant to listen to.

Yeah.

I honestly don’t have too much to say about this song. It’s a good song, from a good drama, and I just want more people to hear it, and see the drama. Because it’s totally worth seeing.

That’s really all I have to say about this song, so this is a short and sweet review. Yay!

Leave a Reply

